7/2 goin’ to maine

Had a difficult time leaving the wonderful White Mountains Lodge and Hostel. They did my laundry (and had other cotton clothes for us to wear), cooked a huge breakfast, and shuttled us all over town. Didn’t roll out until 10:30 am or so. Still trucked a solid 16 to a shelter .5 over the Maine border. I made it to Maine. If only I could describe the excitement. Last state, and they tried to take us out on some wet rainy long rock slabs right before we got there. The three of us, witch doctor, bright side and myself, each almost lost limbs in the last mile of new Hampshire. It really didn’t want to let us go easy. Larry boy didn’t make it as far as the shelter, but big brother and little brother did make it in after dark. Good crew, just wish Larry boy had been there for the Maine cross. He has to get off trail on Saturday for a job. Has to finish Maine last year- ahh that would kill me! And it’s killing him. I met Larry boy around day 4 or 5 so we will definitely have a little goodbye party.

So, I made it to Maine and I passed 1900 miles. Loving life.

image

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in july. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7/2 goin’ to maine

  1. Steve says:

    Looking awesome, EJ !! I am so proud of you !!

  2. Helen Foster says:

    Maine, and I just found out about your sojourn a week ago! We have read the whole journal and held our breath waiting for you to cross the mountains. So proud to know that you are finishing soon and continue to enjoy the trail. Visiting Asheville and seeing your parents again was wonderful. Thank you for letting us have a peek at the AT through your eyes.

  3. John H says:

    Keep rollin! Soon you’ll have that mountain in your crosshairs. You must be fighting some pain though, so be smart and take it easy if you need to.

  4. Julia says:

    Maine: piece of cake. You got this.

  5. patmom1 says:

    Watch out world, here comes EJ!
    Looks like that rock climbing experience you have is going to serve you well. Have fun – be safe!!

  6. mariah says:

    Oh my gosh! I have tears in my eyes just thinking about your finish. What an amazing feat!

  7. You’re almost done!! I am so proud of you and excited for you to finish! Love you!

  8. Mary Ellen says:

    Yea EJ! Enjoy Maine!

Leave ej a comment!

