Mile 1087.8 at birch run shelter to a camp site at 1108.8. Passed another 100 mile. That will always feel good. A lot happened today! Harpers ferry was the psychological half way, and might as well be, but today I actually passed mile 1092.95. 1/2. It was a little anticlimactic since they had not moved the 1/2 way sign to the correct spot, but the sign was 4 miles or so down the road. It changes every year due to trail reroutes and such.
There is a trail tradition to eat a half gallon of ice cream as fast as you can at the general store right after the half way point. I’m pretty proud of myself. I didn’t think I would be able to get it down, let alone quickly.. but I surprised myself. Giuseppe finished first around 20 minutes, then moose around 24, then I came in third at 31 minutes. 1/2 gallon of chocolate chip ice cream in my belly. Of the nine of us, 8 finished. Job well done. Cassandra played it safe. I don’t blame her and I’m actually jealous. She didn’t have to suffer the way the rest of us did. She actually got to enjoy her share. Smart lady. But, I got all competitive and didnt want boys to beat me. At the 1/2 way and ice cream was: Cassandra, Chris, dirty Mike, coups, blue moon, Giuseppe, ayce, and Larry boy. Good crew. Long spoon, laser death kill, witch doctor, man child, tail lights, annnnd ember are still behind. I’ve been leaving them notes in the shelters to hurry up.
I just wanted to take a moment to recognize how awesome it is that I started the AT at springer mtn in the parking lot with blue moon (Terrybliss.com), then was with him at the 1/3 mark, AND got to share crossing the 1/2 mark with him today. I think that is wild. Blue moon is a character and I simply can’t put him into words. His excitement, enthusiasm, and spunk are contagious. I hope he’s with me at 2/3 too.

image

image

image

image

1/2 way marker

image

Giuseppe- first to finish!

image

image

image

Dirty Mike after the 1/2 gallon

image

My poles are destroying my fingers. Thank goodness for duck tape.

image

Notice. I’ve been following the right side column as they go up. Now I can follow the left side because it’s smaller than the right, and count back down to zero! I’m at 1108.8 campsite tonight. Only 1077.1 to go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Julia Horrocks says:

    Im inspired to do something cool enough to justify downing a 1/2 gallon of ice cream in 30 minutes.

  2. John says:

    Hoooooray for you. And for Blue Moon and all the others! I’m glad Terry has been there – I remember him well from Springer Mtn, too. By the way, “duck tape” is the term used only by quack doctors…real docs know it as “duct tape”, good not only for blisters but also for heating & A/C systems.

Leave ej a comment!

