So. Full story on kincora photo. I was sitting on the couch in a crowded room and looked up at the ceiling. Mind you… every wall corner surface ceiling etc of all four rooms of the hostel were covered in photos from previous hikers. On the ceiling, directly above my head, were Heather and Arwen. I find that mind blowing. And I took a photo and went to show Bob (guy running the hostel – well known on the trail), and he asked me to ask them if they borrowed a sled and filmed people sledding in the snow. Sure enough, they did. He remembers them well. Bob was one of the sweetest, caring people I’ve ever met, and extremely dedicated to his cause. Highlight of my day- we were leaving and I couldn’t find him to say bye, so I told his friend on the porch to give Bob a big kiss on the cheek for me (joking).. he told me he knew where he was, hollered for him, and Bob came out and gave ME a big kiss on the cheek. I about died. He told lots of stories about hikers and even pulled out the book camera crew signed (Arwen and heather were camera 1 and camera 2) and had me find their entry. Shannon drove up last night too which was a treat. She drove ember and I to elizabethton for an excellent southern dinner that scored us free desserts on the house. Shannon baked cookies – by the way – home baked cookies are gold out here, and drove us around for little errands. She and ember camped out and I stayed in a bunk. They were in a big beautiful field with an old warn down barn. Sweet spot. Last night was a good old hiker family night. Everyone shared a big pasta dinner and snacked all night. I had been holding on to some sparklers too which were a big hit after dark. Got some of the boys (Tarzan, Z, snowman, not it, and crow) to make AT signs with them. Couldn’t have asked for more from a hostel – and Lucky made me cheesy eggs for breakfast which were awesome with my fresh fruit that I bought at the mom and pops store the day before. Best breakfast yet. Today was gorgeous. Shannon and friend abby hiked with us for a while. Big blue sky. Sunny. Hiking in shorts and sports bra. Waterfalls. Great views. A dam. Lake. You get the point. Shelter is on top of a mountain looking over the far end of the lake. Can’t wait to see the sunrise over it!

image

image

Sparklers photos of photos

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in april. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Julia Horrocks says:

    Awesome!!! You’ve got great AT karma.

  2. John says:

    Sounds like Arwen & Heather are literally watching over you…a comforting thought.

Leave ej a comment!

