Roan – goodbye NC!

Roan mountain! Holy cow. Breath taking and dangerous. Thick ice covered the path, and we both fell. I love the forest that covers it, I took nice photos with the other camera. Dense forest with pockets of snow covered bright patches in the sun. Then the roan balds.. oh my. One of my favorite places in the world. As beautiful as I remember. Joe and I went up there together last year and I still have not seen a more beautiful spot on the AT. So cool to look back and be able to see everything you just hiked over. Covered 20.9 miles all the way to doll flats. Crossed over the NC border for bed and there is no going back until after Maine. I’m sad but also feel as though passing NC was an important step psychologically for me getting this hike done. We’re not home anymore.
Minor pains today… everywhere. So I am taking aleve before I fall asleep.
Damascus in.. 4 days? Maybe? Crossing 400 miles tomorrow. Gettin’ it done.

Falling
image
image

image

Roan

image

image

The balds

image

Who am I ?

image

You guessed it!

image

Stretching

image

This entry was posted in april. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roan – goodbye NC!

  1. Julia Horrocks says:

    Congratulations! Sounds like an amazing day.

  2. John H says:

    NC’s loss…but we’ll be waiting for you after Maine. Great photos – my guess is you like the balds so much because they remind you of me.

  3. mother of ember says:

    The picture of vegetation looks like coral! It feels sad the 2 of you leaving NC. We’ll miss stalking, I mean seeing you guys. Maybe we’ll catch you at Mt. Rogers.

  4. patmom1 says:

    It’s a new emotion to say that I hope you won’t be back, but I’m getting used to it!

Leave ej a comment!

