Today.

Oh today. Where to begin. Let me start by pointing out that I’m blogging at 10:15. We got into the shelter around 10. The original plan was to hike to the shelter right before nantahala outdoor center. However, it is suppose to be raining all day tomorrow. For those who don’t know it is a good 3000 foot climb out of that resupply. So I thought it would be clever to hike the full 17 down there. Eat dinner. Grab a beer. Then hike the 7 miles out and to the next shelter. Still is a good idea. Not having to climb that mountain in the rain. But it was a.. 23.2 mile day and I broke in to tears 2/3s of the way up in the dark with my head lamp just from stubbing my toe on a rock. I was so tired, grumpy, and sore, and as if my feet didn’t hurt bad enough I had to then stub my toe. I recovered quickly but the mountain was quite a beast. I hiked faster after encountering our first bear about a mile from the shelter. Its eyes were SO bright in the head lamp. Long night but today had other highlights. We made it for a quick meal at NOC and were able to get camp food to last until fontana dam. Best moment of the day… Alex started singing “always look on the bright side of life” and was waving his poles around and dancing. I was behind watching… when on the word “life” he got his pole stuck on a stump in the mountain side and knocked himself in the head hard with his own pole. I almost peed my pants. I definitely cried tears of laughter. Wish someone else had seen it 🙂
Another tower at lunch. Always beautiful.

image

Got to soak feet in the river.

image

Grouch.

image

And we forgot to thank Julia. We got our good luck drinks in hiawassee. Thanks!!!!

This entry was posted in march. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today.

  1. What a beautiful day, how courageous, the way you have pushed yourself. Sorry about the toe. Glad your achilles is more comfortable. I have friends in VT who want to bring you to their house for dinner when you arrive…in a few days…enjoy NC, you are almost in TN now, wow!!!

  2. John Horrocks says:

    Details of the bear encounter? He just took off?
    Don’t forget to bark!

  3. mother of ember says:

    I would have thought it would be Alex suggesting the very long day! I don’t know if I could have slept after the bear encounter! Hope your feet feel OK today.

  4. patmom1 says:

    Goodness, darlin’! Slow down and take time to smell the poison ivy!!

  5. Leki-Less says:

    You did what? You..I’m sorry…you what? You hiked 16 miles…and then the 7 up from NOC? That 7 miles from the NOC is 7 MILES UPHILL. Like, non-stop uphill. That 7 mile uphill was a day of hiking for me! I have no doubt you are in better shape than I was, but consider slowing down a bit. Are you on a timeline? Rushing to finish for a particular reason? The second to last thing you want to have happen is for your hike to be or feel rushed. The last thing you want to have happen is to get injured because of rushing! Hope you’re loving it so far.

  6. Julia Horrocks says:

    Love your story at the end. I stubbed my toe that day too, playing basketball. Must be a weird sister energy thing. The nail is blue and I’m expecting it to fall off – you probably don’t have that problem since you got rid of your toenails. I’m a little jealous.

  7. rusl says:

    HAHAHA!!!! Best entry thus far. ❤

Leave ej a comment!

