Standing Indian shelter

Long hike today! North Carolina! We finished our first state and I couldn’t be happier. NC has mountains.. wow. Totally changed instantly upon enter the state. Staying in a shelter called standing Indian with 4 others. 16.4 miles that ended with a nice camp fire and great conversation. Still got a nice head cold going and my feet are OK so I’m going to bed early still. Half of me wants to be next to the fire and the other half wants my sleeping bag. After hiking through tall (up to 2 feet) drifts of snow all day my sleeping bag wins. I was concerned about protein and nutrition so I changed it up a bit at the restock yesterday. Counted my protein intake for the day… 60 grams. Awesome. I fell like I’ve finally got my diet under control where its somewhat healthy and I’m getting the calories and protein I need. I’ll lay out my typical meals for the day later in the week if anyone is interested. Over and out. Got some tissues for free in a hiker box. Yes!

This entry was posted in march. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Standing Indian shelter

  1. John Horrocks says:

    Welcome back to NC! Sore feet…head cold…from one end to the other. And in heavy snow and cold. I’m glad you’re so tough. A wimp like me wouldn’t stand a chance.

  2. Julia horrocks says:

    I’m interested

  3. patmom1 says:

    Sending warm thoughts for your cold of vegetarian “chicken soup”! Love from mom

    Sent from my iPhone

  4. Tom Justice says:

    16.4 miles through snow? I’m impressed. As you’re able, ej, give us as much detail as you can.

Leave ej a comment!

